Persönlicher Status und Werkzeuge

GAUSS-Prize for young researchers awarded to Peter Hieber

From left to right: Prof. Dr. Ralf Korn (TU Kaiserslautern), Dr. Peter Hieber (TU München), Dr. Florentin Rahe (Universität Ulm), Prof. Dr. Oskar Goecke (FH Köln), Prof. Dr. Angelika May (Universität Oldenburg), Prof. Dr. Alfred Müller (Universität Siegen) - © DAV / Michael Fahrig

Dr. Peter Hieber was awarded the GAUSS-prize for young researchers for his dissertation „First-exit times and their applications in default risk management“ (supervised by Prof. Dr. Matthias Scherer). The thesis deals with modeling and managing default risk in Finance and Insurance.

The GAUSS-Prize is awarded annually by the German Society of Financial/Insurance Mathematics (DGVFM) and the German Actuarial Association (DAV) and is endowed with EUR 2.000. Its aim is to promote and motivate young researchers in the field of Financial/ Insurance Mathematics to deal with unsolved questions in the field of Actuarial Science. Specifically desired are contributions that bridge the gap between scientific quality and practical relevance. The GAUSS-Prize 2013 was awarded on April 30h 2014 at the Scientific Day of DAV/DGVFM in Bonn.